Economic and Financial Crime Commission (EFCC) arrested 16 Kwara Local Government chairmen on Friday 1st November 2019 over alleged N4 billion fraud.

Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (Kwara State Governor) had suspended the chairmen for mismanaging  the huge sum.
They allegedly misappropriated N4bn loan and 10 percent of the state’s internally generated revenue.

According to the Media and Publicity, Wilson Uwujaren,  After the council chairmen secured the controversial loans, held a meeting and decided that N100m of it be shared among themselves.
He said the chairmen had, written to the Ilorin branch manager of Sterling Bank on the 7th February 2018 requesting a N4bn loan in order to pay the salary arrears of the State Universal Basic Education Board teachers, local government staff and the local government pensioners.

EFCC added that the council chairmen were also accused of diverting monthly 10 percent of the internally generated revenue for their personal use.
It stated that all the suspects, while undergoing interrogation they admitted that N100m was shared from the loan.
The council chairmen were pleading with the EFCC to give them some time to pay back what they had benefited from government’s money.

The EFCC said the politicians were still being held in custody and might spend the weekend there.
Added, that they would be charged to court after the investigations had been concluded.

Names of the local government chairmen arrested on Friday are written below:
Jibril Salihu, Muyiwa Oladipo, Lateef Gbadamosi,    
Omokanye Joshua Olatunji, Abdullahi Abubakar Bata, Risikat Opakunle, Oladipo Omole, Saidu Yaru Musa, Raliat Funmi Salau, Oni Adebayo Joseph, Umar Belle, Aminat Omodara, Saka Eleyele, Ayeni Dallas, Lah Abdulmumeen, and Fatai Adeniyi Garba.